Title?

Welcome to My Very First Blog.

I’m hoping to make this fun as well as informative. I’m hoping to post every day, but real life may sometimes intrude. WARNING: I may sometimes be posting opinions with which you don’t agree and I can’t guarantee that all my opinions or “facts” are 100% correct. If you disagree with an opinion or, more importantly, if you disagree with a “fact” – please, please post a comment or a reply. There is nothing sacrosanct about health and wellness and today’s science is tomorrow’s myth.

So, welcome to my blog.

An Old Ethical Dilemma

I’ve been out of town for a week, so I reviewed my e-mail in haste. But, being an old philosophy and ethics buff, I found the new West Coast laws pertaining to assisted death most interesting. (See http://content.nejm.org/cgi/content/full/359/24/2513?query=TOC) As some of you may know, I was once a pediatric nurse practitioner working with children who had neurological and neurosurgical disease. Disability, pain and death were not strangers to that world. It was a common joke to ask that “DNR – Do Not Resuscitate” be tattooed across a forehead or chest. Yet, few of us, nurses and physicians alike, ever came to a firm belief in what was right or wrong in all cases and in all situations. We all worked hard against the foe, death. Yet, we all knew that the REAL foe was suffering, not death.

So, where do I stand on my right to die? I’ve decided for myself. But I won’t decide for you.

Mary Lou Bernardo, PhD, MSN

Archives

My Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


