Don’t Look At The Ads!

Want to lose weight? Better not look at ads for exercise. LINK

 

Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by all the advice out there (including my own). It’s difficult to read everything so that I can make an informed decision. For example, I would like to read the original research article from which the above article was derived. But that would mean either going to the closest medical school library (time, gas, parking) or paying the (I think) exorbitant fee to get the .PDF. Then, of course, there is the issue of time, even if I do read the original article. How much time can I reasonably devote to reading one original source?

 

Time management is a real problem: information explosion, pressure to keep or get a job, ever longer commuting times … the list could go on far too long.

 

So, where am I going with this? Towards balance, I think.

 

The above article is interesting, but not interesting enough to pursue the original. I have too many questions. For example, how many hours had elapsed since the study participants had eaten? Was the time the same for both groups? Were the participants regular exercisers or not? In any case, a difference of 6 calories between groups seems rather small even when the larger intake was only 18 calories. It would simply take too much time to get all the answers I want for one short Web article that I found interesting.

 

Balance. Eat a balanced diet. Balance your food intake with your energy output. Balance work with play. Balance interests and pursuits.

 

Balance is a tool in the prevention of illness.

 

Health – it’s about prevention.

Mary Lou Bernardo, PhD, MSN

Archives

My Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


